Lindsay_b82    0

I was ****d and molested when I was 5 and 6 years old. I didn't tell a soul until I was in my late 20s, I'm 34 now. I've also had guns put to my head during my job, knives pulled on me in same job, and a robbed at gunpoint with it pointed in my face... trigger loaded. I'm mostly having flashbacks from my childhood, so real they physically and emotionally painful. I've tried therapy, but it just makes them worse. Any suggestions on dealing with this is much needed. Thanks. 

Ihadcancer    283

I'm so sorry Lindsay. That's so sad.   I have no magical words to help make this go away.  Maybe someone else will have a suggestion.

Diane

JOYCICLE    623

I wonder why therapy makes it worse. Maybe just from talking about it and rehashing it?  I'm no professional and I've only had limited therapy. So when I say this I'm not suggesting it is TRUE, just speculating. I think there comes a time in therapy and life when rehashing the past is no longer necessary.  You're not unaware or having repressed memories. You know exactly what happened to get to the anxious place you are today. So at some point, rather than digging in the past, it may be more helpful to find out how to live in the present.  For some folks they are not really sure how they ended up nervous and in that case, looking into all the events of childhood is helpful. If the therapist you saw made things worse, try again with another therapist. There is no reason for you have to suffer like this.  Not all therapists are the same. I saw one many years ago who I just felt very awkward and belittled by and so I only went a few times. There is no way to get healing when you dont' feel comfortable with a person.

Mark G    795